Frequent Responder
tonymuljat
Total Posts: 242
Registered on: ‎07-22-2011

Why is Blood Glucose Test done fasting?

Okay, I'm a newbie here.  So bear with me.  It seems to me like the measurements that doctors are looking at is the HAC1.  And this measurement (in laymans terms, I know this is not 100% accurate), is a 120 day look at your blood glucose levels (or plasma, etc).  So, while we are all trying to monitor and control our blood glucose by monitering it as we do, we are doing so in an effort to either lower or maintain a "healthy" HAC1.  Since the HAC1 test measures a 120 look, it seems to me like this blood test wouldn't matter if it were done fasting or not.  One meal is not going to have even a miniscule impact on your HAC1 score.  So, why do we need to fast when we have this test done along with our blood glucose test?  The blood glucose test is just a snapshot of recent blood glucose measurements, and the goal is really the HAC1.  So fasting for these tests does not make "common" sense to me.
AC1 - Diagnosed 10/6/10 - 10.8
1/26/11 - 6.8
7/8/11 - 7.5
1/14/12 - 5.6
Next bloodwork 3/12, for LDL only
Triglycerides 134 as of 1/14/12.  Metformin 2 x 850 mg.  Glipizide 1 x 10 mg, twice daily.  The glip I have down-dosed myself.  Also on Metoprolol (2x 100mg), Fenofibrate (taken off 1/14/12)(160mg), Simvistatin (20mg), and Lisonopril/Diurectic combo(20-25mg).  Morning BG's seem to be highest of day in general, but are improving. Very low carb diet.
I don't want to eat just one piece of bread, I want four.
Long Term Goal:  5% club.  Short Term Goal, improve my next Triglyceride number and continue my modest exercise program (exercise not going so well 9/28/11).
Frequent Responder
Shelma
Total Posts: 61
Registered on: ‎03-29-2011