Occasional Responder
Mstatz
Total Posts: 12
Registered on: ‎02-29-2012
Helpful Response

What is AC1?

Hi Everyone - I'm new at this as you can tell by my question.  I read the definition of AC1 but not quite understanding the numbers.  What is a good AC1 number? Can you lower it?  And how to do you test/receive an AC1 number?  My doctor has done a lot of blood work but I can't find the AC1.  

Thanks - Mary

alan_s
Total Posts: 14,565
Topics: 203
High Fives: 1,426
Solutions: 161
Registered on: ‎10-30-2009

Re: What is AC1?

Mstatz wrote:

Hi Everyone - I'm new at this as you can tell by my question.  I read the definition of AC1 but not quite understanding the numbers.  What is a good AC1 number? Can you lower it?  And how to do you test/receive an AC1 number?  My doctor has done a lot of blood work but I can't find the AC1.  

Thanks - Mary

It may help if you switch the letters around. The true terminology is HbA1c, or A1c for short.

This is the best and clearest explanation I have read for lay people like myself. Click on this and scroll down to Subject: What's HbA1c and what's it mean? and subsequent sections.

As to the number to aim for; I aim to be under 6% if I can. I don't always succeed, but I prefer to aim low and just miss than to aim too high.

As to how I achieve it, begin here: Test, Review, Adjust

Cheers, Alan, Type 2, d&e metformin 2000mg, Australia.
Everything in Moderation - Except Laughter.
There is nothing I could eat I like more than my eyes.
Type 2 Diabetes - A Personal Journey (latest: It Must Be OK - It's Sugar-Free! Wrong!)
Born Under a Wandering Star (Latest: Budapest, Hungary)
Occasional Responder
Mstatz
Total Posts: 12
Registered on: ‎02-29-2012

wow!  I came to the right place.  Thanks again!

Advisor
ronaka
Total Posts: 950
Registered on: ‎12-24-2011

Here is a useful link:

A1C and eAG

Ron