Frequent Visitor
nascargirl3858
Total Posts: 3
Registered on: ‎10-07-2012

Newly Diagnosed

I was just diagnosed with type 2 about 3 weeks ago. I am still learning how to add my meal's carbs when on the go. Does anyone know of a good phone app I can use that adds carbs?

Greatly appreciated:smileyhappy:

Gina

Gina :smileyhappy:
Diagnosed 9/18/2012
A1C 6.7 BS 157
Advisor
LatheP
Total Posts: 115
Registered on: ‎01-11-2011

Re: Newly Diagnosed

Hi,

Welcome. I used to use a lot of apps when I was 1st diagnosed (Oct 2010). I ended up just dropping carbs from my diet. It's much easier...and much healthier. What were your numbers when you found out?

Lathe Poland
Director/Producer
"Carb-Loaded: A Culture Dying to Eat"
Type 2 - Diagnosed : Oct of 2010 (A1C 8.3).
Stopped medication: Oct 2011
Latest A1C - 5.4 : Mar 2013
Managed with diet.

Super Advisor
suesmith
Total Posts: 406
Registered on: ‎09-27-2011

nascargirl3858 wrote:

I was just diagnosed with type 2 about 3 weeks ago. I am still learning how to add my meal's carbs when on the go. Does anyone know of a good phone app I can use that adds carbs?

Gina

I use "Lose It" on my iPhone, it was a free app which I also liked because I am sort of a cheapskate :smileywink:

Cordially,

Sue

Type 2
1000mg/day Janumet
DX: September 2011: A1C 13.6 FBG 389
July 2012: A1c 5.6 FBG 84
lizzylou
Total Posts: 13,855
Topics: 561
High Fives: 1,934
Solutions: 139
Registered on: ‎10-31-2009

Lathep wrote:

Hi,

Welcome. I used to use a lot of apps when I was 1st diagnosed (Oct 2010). I ended up just dropping carbs from my diet. It's much easier...and much healthier. What were your numbers when you found out?

If you mean completely dropping carbs that's not easier nor heathier for a lot of people.  If it works for you, fine, but it's certainly not necessary to completely drop carbs, just limit and control them.

Lizzy

Knowledge is Power!

Here's some useful links, click on the titles

Testing 101

All About Carbs