Long Lost Member
kalexa
Total Posts: 1
Registered on: ‎11-24-2010

Need Insulin but don't have health insurance

Help,

I'm hoping someone will read this and help me. I was recently diagnosed with Diabetes. My world has been turned upside down. I work as a temp and my temp agency does not offer health insurance. I saw a diabetic nurse once when i was diagnosed and she had approved my refills on a monthly basis for a couple months. I was told I needed  to have a primary physician prescribe my refills. Because I have  no health insurance, the out of pocket office visits are too expensive. In order for me to get insulin I need to be seen by a doctor. But I can't afford the office visits. There are non-profit clinics which offer a fee sliding scale. Because I exceed their requirements it will still be too expensive for me.

Can anyone help me get my insulin???

Thank you.
Kris
Frequent Responder
Anie07
Total Posts: 128
Registered on: ‎03-25-2010

Yes I have been in the same dilemma but I was unemployed at the time my doctors office helped me with samples for a little and them I was almost out and they had no more to give me so my doctor sent me to someone else in the office who deals with people who can't afford there medications she helps me apply through a government funded program that the pharmaceutical companies have and I was eligible to get my insulin for as long as I needed. so your best bet would be to ask your doctors office if they can help you with that. good luck I know how it feels to not know when your going to be able to get the medication that helps you. 
-stephanie 
-stephanie (aka anie07) Misdiagnosed Type 2 at the age of 17 rediagnosed Type 1 at the age of 21 after DKA 7 Total years with Diabetes.  Pumping Humalog in the Medtronic Revel 723 and Loving it.

Long Lost Member
hiloman
Total Posts: 3
Registered on: ‎01-27-2010

HW

Responder
jenningsa88
Total Posts: 31
Registered on: ‎09-29-2010

Kris -