Occasional Responder
txgolfer45
Total Posts: 13
Registered on: ‎10-21-2011

Pre-workout supplement?

I've been working out in the gym regularly for several years now.  Through my weight training, I've dropped about 50 lbs in weight.  At this point, I can get leaner.  But, also want to increase muscle mass.  I'm 5'7" and weigh 155 lbs.  I've been drinking protein shakes prior to workouts.  But, I'm considering changing to a pre-workout supplement instead or coupled with a protein shake. 

The supplement I'm considering is at the following link:

http://www.ndsnutrition.com/comersus/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=126

Concerns are that it has sucralose and maltodextrin in it.  The overall serving calories and carbs are definitely low.  But, was wondering if these sugar substitutes are ok. 

Responder
scott-french3
Total Posts: 46
Registered on: ‎01-26-2010

Re: Pre-workout supplement?

I'm going to send the product facts to my dr for his input.  It is a popular product for bodybuilders.  Wasn't sure if there were any red flags for a type 2 diabetic.   Guess, no one has any experience with it.

Frequent Advisor
sunritef
Total Posts: 2,550
Registered on: ‎11-30-2009

how much weight are you pushing in your resistance exercises?  are you exhausting your muscles, then giving the appropriate time to rest before hitting them again?  I'm just not into supplements for muscle building.  lots of protein, lots of calories, lots of work is what I think is most important.

You go to school to learn, not for a report card.
You use your meter to learn, not for a report card

Type 1 (LADA).. Novolog/Levemir

Adult onset T1
Responder
scott-french3

[ Edited ]

I vary my weight training program to challenge the muscles with different exercises.  I finished up a 12 week program where we were lifting to failure on each exercise.  We typically lift for 45 -60 minutes.  Currently doing a program designed to reduce body fat.  Will be on that program another week.