olHound
Total Posts: 1
Registered on: ‎01-03-2012

following a diabetic diet if your food must come from the local food pantry

I was diagnosed with type 2 in July. If I eat well enough, take my meds exercise and eat a high protein small bedtime snack my numbers are ok. It’s been a bit of an adjustment and sometimes I get frustrated, but I do ok enough. I also work in healthcare and often sit with low income patients who are diabetic who tell me that they can only afford to “shop” for food at the local food pantries.  We have great dietitians, but I been in the room when they try to work with these patients and their training doesn’t seem to cover helping the poor. I heard one tell a patient with no money, no food stamps, and no car, “You can go to xxxx and get your meat  they have good sales.” She honestly didn’t seem to comprehend that the patient just couldn’t jump in the car and run out for cheap meat.  Patients with such limited means have increased in numbers as the economy has failed to improve.

Getting beans from the food pantry seem to be a no brainer from the food pantry, but patients tell me that they are limited to one bag a week.

Anyone here know of  a good resource for helping folks maintain a diabetic diet if they are limited to getting food from a food pantry?

Thanks. Hound

alan_s
Total Posts: 14,746
Topics: 207
High Fives: 1,488
Solutions: 167
Registered on: ‎10-30-2009

Re: following a diabetic diet if your food must come from the local food pantry

G'day and welcome.

I'm in the wrong country to offer advice; your compatriots will be along soon.

I just wanted to say hi and let you know your post was read.

Cheers, Alan, Type 2, d&e metformin 2000mg, Australia.
Everything in Moderation - Except Laughter.
There is nothing I could eat I like more than my eyes.
Type 2 Diabetes - A Personal Journey(latest: Catering For Different Tastes When Cooking)
Born Under a Wandering Star (Latest: Budapest, Hungary)
Advisor
Samtop
Total Posts: 417