Long Lost Member
tschuh22
Total Posts: 1
Registered on: ‎07-09-2010

Non-Diabetic with high blood sugar in the morning

I am not a diabetic. However, this morning when I got up my sugar was over 400. Now, I will say that I did have a large amount of sweets last night before bed for a birthday party. I usually check my blood sugar because my doctor was concerned I might be hypoglocemic (SP?). Previously, my sugar has never been high than 250. This is the first time its been this high...what can I do to lower the level....and is it neccessary to rush the doctor for a one time reading?
Frequent Responder
cactus8
Total Posts: 1,181
Registered on: ‎11-07-2009

Welcome!

Hypoglycemia causes low numbers not the high ones you have had but I am no expert on it by any means. I guess you body could be compensating for a low but still 400 is a high number.

Did you wash your hands between eating the sweets and testing? Sugar on your hands could impact on the reading.

I would be worried I had diabetes if I was seeing numbers like 250 and 400. Have you been tested for diabetes? What are your normal morning numbers without the sweets?

It is usually not recommneded to exercise if you see such a high number.
Frequent Responder
cactus8
Total Posts: 1,181
Registered on: ‎11-07-2009

If you meant you have hyperglycemia then yes that can lead to higher numbers and you should be watching out for the impacts high numbers can have on your health. I would still want to check / rule out diabetes and I would stay away from sweets at bedtime if they lead to a 400 in the morning. Perhaps consider a seconfd opinion form another doctor as well.

Super Advisor
Janet754
Total Posts: 1,723
Registered on: ‎10-31-2009