Occasional Responder
Noodles13
Total Posts: 8
Registered on: ‎03-30-2012

Need your input

Hi everyone,

I was diagnosis on 1/20/12 for type 2.  A1C 8.9  Cholesterol 227  Vitamin D 11  BP normal and liver and kidneys normal.  So luckily no organ damage so far.  I figure I've had this for years in that I hadn't gone to the doctor in over 25 years!  Yeah I know, dumb.  My usual day of eating would be no breakfast, something fatty and greasy from the cafeteria (teacher by trade)  and then fried shrimp, BBQ pork, chips and a slice of cake for dinner and dessert.   My dinner would vary but usually was VERY carb loaded and followed by chips, ice cream, or cake.  I never seemed to get full.  I'm 53, in menopause, 5'2 and weighed at that time 243 so very fat.  Never exercised either.  So I get the type 2 diagnosis and tell my doctor I want 6 months to change things on my own and she agrees.  I was getting my FBG down to 130 or less and throughout the day it stayed under 180.  I got my weight down to 219.  I did spend a short time eating too few calories (650-750) and then found I couldn't lose anymore.  I upped my calories to 1100 and started to lose again after a few weeks.  Two weeks ago I found the book "Diabetes Miracle" by Diane Kress.  I read it, joined her website and have been following the plan perfectly for 14 days.  My FBG is now between 150-170!!!!  I had told Diane through her website that I was not taking meds and she said it could take the entire 8 weeks of stage 1 for my numbers to go to normal and the science was explained in the book as to why.. and that she felt I could probably do it without meds.  She also said I might not lose any weight over the 8 weeks because for every point drop in your A1C you usually gain 5 pounds but on her program I would not gain.. and I haven't.  When I emailed her my concerns about the higher FBG she told me to change my Lantus in the morning???  I had told her in previous emails I was NOT on meds.  This concerned me.  Does