Occasional Responder
AndreaAu
Total Posts: 12
Registered on: ‎03-07-2011

How often should meters be replaced?

I was wondering how often I should be replacing my test meter? I am still using the same one I was given when I was diagnosed in 2007, I've heard they should be replaced periodically but didn't know how often that should be, yearly, every few years, etc.

Thanks in advance

Type 2 diabetic
Metformin 500mg twice a day
Diet/Exercise
Diagnosed December, 2007
Last A1C: 6.4
Frequent Responder
porkee
Total Posts: 57
Registered on: ‎12-16-2012

Re: How often should meters be replaced?

Since you didn't mention which brand/model meter in question I cannot comment on what you "heard". I've been using the Lifescan [J&J] Ultra One Touch Mini since 2006. This is my primary unit. In 2009, I got another freebie as a backup. Periodically I will test using BOTH meters to verify the '06 unit results are +/- 10 mg/dl within each other. I just obtained another freebie, a One Touch Verio IQ meter which I'm not keen on, the lancet is too fine but that's another story. Meters are inexpensive so why not get a backup?

Medicinal Induced T2'er since 2004
2.5 mg Glipizide
1.5 mg Prograf

5 feet 7 inches, 136-141 lbs
04/13 - Fasting/A1c 133/6.3 [aiming for 5.4%]

Trusted Contributor
morrisolder
Total Posts: 10,548
Registered on: ‎11-28-2009

Some people say every 3 years, though I have had good luck for longer stretches than that, and some people have gone longer than you have.

If you are insured, they will cove the cost of a new meter every so often; if not, the maker of your current meter may wish to send you another one to get you up to date, and keep you as a customer. But look those gift horses in the mouth if cost is an issue--you may be able to save on test strips if you buy a different meter, which won;t cost a whole lot compared to the strips every month...

Morris