Long Lost Member
pattyci
Total Posts: 49
Registered on: ‎11-10-2009

How do you prime the humalog Kwik Pen?

I am just changin gover from the syringes to the Kwik Pen. I looked at the video on the humolog site, but couldn't figure out how to prime the pen, and from what I gather, you do this every time before injection? I know you dial the dose, but is this before and after you prime?

Any tips appreciated.

Thanks,

Pattyci
Super Advisor
Spookiesmom
Total Posts: 1,453
Registered on: ‎02-17-2010

Hi
I used to do a 2u air shot, then dial in what I needed to shoot.

Barb
formerly Aussiemom
OmniPod since 1-09
Barb T2 Omni Pod since 1-09
Long Lost Member
pattyci

B Young (4/9/2010)
Hi

I used to do a 2u air shot, then dial in what I needed to shoot.

Barb

formerly Aussiemom

OmniPod since 1-09

I am new to insulin, and now the Kwik Pen. Air shot as in you dial the dose to 2, then let it squirt out, then redial the pen to 2 units, which is my dose in morning, and inject?

Thanks!
Advisor
Brenda8859
Total Posts: 1,771
Registered on: ‎10-31-2009

I use Novolog Pen, same thing. Always dial up 2 units, then tap on the pen to remove bubbles and then shoot that into the air; dial up your injection dose and inject. Sometimes when you open a new pen it might take 2 2-unit dial ups before it shoots into the air. But always make sure it does before injecting. Good luck, Brenda
"Life is a classroom.  We are both student and teacher.  Each day  is a test and each day we receive a passing or failing grade in one particular subject:  GRACE".
Long Lost Member
pattyci

brenda8859 (4/9/2010)
I use Novolog Pen, same thing. Always dial up 2 units, shoot that into the air; then tap on the pen to remove bubbles, dial up your injection dose and inject. Sometimes when you open a new pen it might take 2 2-unit dial ups before it shoots into the air. But always make sure it does before injecting. Good luck, Brenda