Responder
momto3
Total Posts: 23
Registered on: ‎10-15-2011
Helpful Response

Frusterated!

Hi, this is my first time posting. I am 43, married and have three kids. I was diagnosed with Type II diabetes 4 1/2 months ago and I am still trying to get a grip on this. I really do try to eat well but then get frusterated when my blood sugars don't reflect it. The past two weeks I have found myself eating worse and I actually had cookies yesterday! I ran/walked my first mini marathon last month in support of my diabetes and my blood sugar was high when I finished! I just don't understand that at all. I feel like giving up...some days it could be so easy to pretend like I don't have diabetes. My fasting blood sugar is the one I get the most upset with. It is always high. I have yet to have a normal one. Right now I am running in the 130's and 140's fasting but before this week I had acutally gotten it down in the 120's. The thing is when I go to bed it is lower then when I get up! Does anyone have any suggestions? I have not been to a diabetic class because I thought I could handle this on my own but now I am not so sure.

~Missy

Advisor
annieO
Total Posts: 385
Registered on: ‎03-02-2010

Re: Frusterated!

Missy,

Welcome!  

You have come to the right place for help and information. There are a number of

people on this board who have dealt with the same issues and questions as you

pose and many will be along shortly to respond. Alan, Lizzy, Morris, and several

others all have a wealth of information to help you.

In the meantime, know that your blood sugar levels will fluctuate according to what you eat and your activity

levels. It can also be affected by medications. Are you taking any?

It may help to get you started in your care by seeing a dietitian who can demonstrate

to you how to use your meter and watch your portion size and carb intake. You'll find very helpful

information on this from others here on this board as well.