Long Lost Member
thebolt1973
Total Posts: 75
Registered on: ‎04-23-2010

Type 1 Diabetic and Weight Loss

Hello all,

This is my first time posting as I have been a member for about 4 months or so but have not visited the site very often due to my major denial of my diabetes diagonosis. I will say this though, it is a pretty good site and hope to meet people that are in my situation. So a quick backdrop, if I may?

I am 36 years old and in March of 2009 I had a major pancreatic episode and was taken to the ER. Well, I found out that I had a gallstone that became stuck in my pancreatic duct and therefore, it caused 5 major pseudo-cysts on my pancreas. I was in the ICU for 1 1/2 months and surgery to remove the gallbladder and drain the cysts. Sadly, I became a Type 1 Diabetic due to the major damage to my pancreas. While I have what is considered "chronic panreatitis", I have not had an episode for 6 months and I take enzymes that allow me to break-down the food I eat. Now my major problem is that I CANNOT GAIN WEIGHT for the life of me.

Before I got sick I weighed 210 pounds and now I am around 160 pounds. I look so skinny, it is depressing. I will say that my lowest weight was 125 pounds (it was ugly) about 5 months ago. I had (well, still having, but much better) a very hard time getting my glucose under control since I had the diagnosis. My Dr. finally sent me to the Endocrinologist and he switched my types and amounts of insulins I need to take. This has helped regulate my sugar better and I am not getting the 400mg/dl readings I was getting before the swich but still cannot gain weight.

So I guess besides introducing myself, I am asking if any of you have had the problem with weight due to your diabetes and what, if anything were you able to do?

Thanks for taking time to read and God Bless.
Contributor
pinkmama
Total Posts: 120
Registered on: ‎07-14-2010